Michel Bellavance

Flute Preselection Jury 2023

Biography

Internationally celebrated flautist Michel Bellavance is in high demand around the globe as a performer and teacher

With engagements on nearly every continent, he enjoys a very full travel schedule with invitations to headline as guest artist at festivals, to perform with orchestra, and to give recitals and masterclasses at well-known conservatoires, universities and summer academies worldwide.

As a Miyazawa artist, Michel embraces a full range of repertoire, and his discography attests to his keen interest for both new and less familiar works.

Michel is a university-level Professor of Flute at the renowned Geneva Conservatoire (Haute École de Musique) in Switzerland, Guest Professor at the Chinese National Conservatory in Beijing (China), and was a Substitute Professor at the Conservatoire National Supérieur Musique et Dance in Lyon (France) during the 2019-2020 academic year.

He studied in Montréal, Paris, Geneva, Zürich and San Francisco, honing his performing skills with artists such as Aurèle Nicolet, Patrick Gallois, Maxence Larrieu and Paul Renzi. Michel resides in London and holds Swiss and Canadian citizenships.

Michel Bellavance

Jury de présélection Flûte 2023

Biographie

Le flûtiste de renommée internationale Michel Bellavance est très demandé dans le monde entier en tant qu’interprète et professeur.

Avec des engagements sur presque tous les continents, il jouit d’un horaire de voyage très chargé en raison de nombreuses invitations à se produire comme soliste avec orchestre et lors de festivals, et de donner des récitals et des masterclasses dans des conservatoires, universités et académies d’été de renom.

Artiste Miyazawa, Michel interprète un large éventail de répertoires et sa discographie témoigne de son vif intérêt tant pour les œuvres nouvelles que pour celles qui sont moins connues.

Michel enseigne la flûte traversière au niveau universitaire au célèbre Conservatoire de Genève (Haute École de Musique) en Suisse, il est professeur invité au Conservatoire National Chinois de Beijing (Chine), et a été professeur suppléant au Conservatoire National Supérieur Musique et Danse de Lyon (France) au cours de l’année académique 2019-2020.

Il a étudié à Montréal, Paris, Genève, Zürich et San Francisco, se perfectionnant auprès d’artistes tels qu’Aurèle Nicolet, Patrick Gallois, Maxence Larrieu et Paul Renzi. Michel habite à Londres et détient les nationalités suisse et canadienne.