Michael Jarrell

Composition jury chairman

Michael Jarrell, Switzerland - Chairman of the composition jury 2015

Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. Since 1982, his works have received numerous prizes: prix Acanthes (1983), Beethovenpreis from the city of Bonn (1986), Marescotti prize (1986), Gaudeamus and Henriette Renié (1988), Siemens-Förderungspreis (1990) and Musikpreis der Stadt Wien (2010).

Between 1986 and 1988, he was in residence at the Cité des Arts in Paris and took part in the computer music course at Ircam. He resided at the Villa Médicis in Rome during 1988/89, and then joined the Istituto Svizzero di Roma in 1989/90. From 1991 to 1993, he was composer in residence with the Lyon Orchestra. In 1993, he was named Professor at the University in Vienna. In 1996, he was composer in residence at the Lucerne festival, then was heralded by the Musica Nova Helsinki Festival, which dedicated the festival to him in 2000. In 2001, the Salzburg Festival commissioned a concerto for piano and orchestra entitled Abschied. The same year, he was named "Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres". In 2004, he was named professor at the Geneva Conservatory.

His latest works include La Chambre aux échos, written in 2010 for Pierre Boulez’ 85th Birthday, Emergences (Nachlese VI), cello concerto premiered in Salt Lake City and Lyon and Liederzyklus (Nachlese Vb) for soprano and ensemble, premiered in 2012 in Geneva and New York.

Michael Jarrell

Président jury composition


Michael Jarrell, Suisse - Président du jury de composition 2015

Le compositeur suisse Michael Jarrell est né à Genève en 1958. Il étudie la composition avec Eric Gaudibert et lors de divers stages aux Etats-Unis à Tanglewood (1979). Il complète sa formation à Freiburg im Brisgau, auprès de Klaus Huber. Depuis 1982, son œuvre a reçu de nombreux prix : Acanthes (1983), Beethovenpreis de la Ville de Bonn (1986), Marescotti (1986), Gaudeamus et Henriette Renié (1988), Siemens (1990).

Entre 1986 et 1988, il séjourne à la Cité des Arts à Paris et participe au stage d'informatique musicale de l'Ircam. Il est ensuite pensionnaire de la Villa Médicis à Rome en 1988/89, puis membre de l'Istituto Svizzero di Roma en 1989/90. Il reçoit le Prix Musique de la Ville de Vienne en 2010. De 1991 à 1993, il est compositeur résident à l'Orchestre de Lyon et en 1996 compositeur en résidence au festival de Lucerne. En mars 2000, le festival Musica Nova Helsinki lui est dédié. En 2001, le festival de Salzbourg lui passe commande d'un concerto pour piano et orchestre : Abschied. La même année, il est nommé Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres. Professeur à l’Université de Vienne depuis 1993, il est nommé à la Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève en 2004.

Parmi ses dernières œuvres, on peut citer La Chambre aux échos, écrit en 2010 à l’occasion des 80 ans de Pierre Boulez, Emergences (Nachlese VI), concerto pour violoncelle créé à Salt Lake City et Lyon, et Liederzyklus (Nachlese Vb) pour soprano et ensemble, créé en 2012 à Genève et New York.

www.michaeljarrell.com