Laureates | Concours de Genève

Quartett HANA

2nd Prize ex aequo

Fuga Miwatashi, Violin 1 & 2
Gyurim Kwak, Violin 1 & 2
Emiko Yuasa, Viola
Johannes Välja, Cello

The Quartett HANA was founded in April 2019 at the Munich University of Music and Performing Arts. Since this formation in 2021, violinists Gyurim Kwak, Fuga Miwatashi, violist Emiko Yuasa and cellist Johannes Välja have been studying with Prof. Raphaël Merlin, Prof. Hariolf Schlichtig (Cherubini Quartett) and the Quatuor Ébène. The musicians have received musical advices, working regularly with Prof. Eberhard Feltz and Prof. Dirk Mommertz (Fauré Quartett). They have participated in masterclasses by Prof. Oliver Wille (Kuss Quartet), Prof. Heime Müller(Artemis Quartett), Prof. Gerhard Schulz(Alban Berg Quartett) and Quatuor Voce.

In 2020, the Quartett HANA received 3rd prize at the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy University Competition in Berlin and played in the Konzerthaus Berlin. In September 2022, the quartet received a special prize “Förderpreis Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland” at the ARD International Music Competition in Munich. In April 2023, the quartet was awarded 3rd prize at the Carl Nielsen International Chamber Music Competition in Copenhagen. In September 2023, they also received the Walbusch prize from Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland. In October 2023, they have been awarded 2nd prize at the Concours de Genève.

Future engagements include performances at the Mozartfest Würzburg and Heidelberger Frühling.

Since 2021 they are sponsored by Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now in Munich.

The two violinists Gyurim Kwak and Fuga Miwatashi alternate in the role of primaria.