Quatuor Girard

3rd Prize quartet 2011

Hugues Girard, violin
Agathe Girard, violin
Odon Girard, viola
Lucie Girard, cello

The Quatuor Girard is composed of two brothers and two sisters from a large family originally from Avignon in the south of France. They are graduates of the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique(CNSM) , either the  Paris or Lyon branch as the case may be.
In 2008, the Quatuor Girard was admitted to the graduate program  for string quartets in  CNSM, Paris, to study under the supervision of  François Salque. In January 2010, they were admitted to the prestigious class of the Ysaÿe Quartet at the Conservatoire Régional de Paris, and in september 2011 in the class of Miguel da Silva in the Haute Ecole de Musique of Geneva.

Support from the ECMA-European Chamber Music Academy, headed by Hatto Beyerle, founder member of Alban Berg Quartet, has enabled them to work with members of  Artis, Alban Berg, Lindsay, and Talich Quartets, as well as, the pianists Alfred Brendel or  Jean-François Heisser, The Quartet has been invited to the Forum Musical de Normandie and to the Académie musicale de Villecroze.

In  September 2010, the Quatuor Girard was awarded the Prix Académie Maurice Ravel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France. The Banque Populaire Foundation granted the Girard Quartet a fellowship in June 2001, and in July they were subsequently awarded the  HSBC prize by  the Académie du Festival d'Aix-en-Provence. In November 2011, they win a 3rd Prize at the Geneva International Competition.

The Girards are now invited to play in various concert halls and musical festivals. They have been heard in performance in France  in many venues: the Opéra-Comique, Salle Pleyel, Grand Salon des Invalides, at the Festival Musique en Albret, Nérac, at the Soirées et Matinées musicales d'Arles, at the Jeudis Musicaux des Eglises Romanes, at the Festival des Voûtes Célestes, La Chaise-Dieu, at the Festival du Val d'Aulnay, as well as,  in Switzerland, Austria, England and Italy. They perform with artists such as Maurice Bourgue, Miguel da Silva, Nicolas Dautricourt, François Salque, Dame Felicity Lott ...

In January 2012, they will perform their first concert in London's Wigmore Hall.  

The Quatuor Girard is in residence at the Singer-Polignac Foundation, Paris. The Girard Quartet is supported by  the Fondation d'Entreprise Banque Populaire, as well as, the Association Hélène Berr. In December 2010, the quartet was awarded a scholarship from the Académie Musicale de Villecroze.

Hugues Girard plays a Nicolo Gagliano violin from 1735, Agathe Girard a Landolfi from 1759, and Lucie GIrard a Bernardel-Père, "ex-Navarra", lent by the Fondation Zilber.

Translation : Morris Goldberg