

CONCOURS DE GENÈVE – INTERNATIONAL MUSIC COMPETITION PERCUSSION & COMPOSITION : 8 – 21 NOVEMBER 2019

PRESS RELEASE - for immediate release

Applications for 74th Geneva Competition in figures.

Geneva, 28 May 2019 – 135 young musicians and composers aged 16 to 39 from 31 countries have applied for the 74th Geneva International Music Competition, which offers percussion & composition. The preselection Jury will meet in Geneva at the beginning of June to select the 40 candidates qualified for the competition, which will be held from 8 to 21 November in Geneva, Switzerland.

Registration deadline for this year's percussion & composition competition was 2 May 2019. The competition seem to be promising with no less than 135 candidates aged 16 to 39 years old representing 31 nationalities. Among them, 75 percussionists (48 men / 27 women) and 60 composers (50 men / 10 women).

Applicants for the competition include a large percentage of Asian countries (50%), followed by Europe (39%) and Americas (11%).

The preselection round will be held in Geneva from 3-4 June (percussion) and from 17-19 June (composition). Some 35 candidates from percussion will be selected to participate in the competition sessions and only 3 finalists for the composition competition. Results will be announced officially on Monday 10 June for the percussion competition and on Monday 17 June for the composition competition.

The 74th Geneva International Music Competition will take place from 8 - 21 November 2019 in Geneva, Switzerland. Complete programme available on www.concoursgeneve.ch

OFFICIAL PERCUSSION JURY

Philippe SPIESSER, Chairman (France), Daniel DRUCKMAN (USA), Fritz HAUSER (Switzerland), Aiyun HUANG (Taïwan / Canada), Marta KLIMASARA (Poland / Germany), Isao NAKAMURA (Japan / Germany), Hèctor PARRA (Spain)

PRESELECTION PERCUSSION JURY

Philippe SPIESSER, Chairman (France), Alexandre Babel (Switzerland), Colin Currie (Scotland), Gilles Durot (France), Isao NAKAMURA (Japan)

OFFICIAL AND PRESELECTION COMPOSITION JURY

Kaija SAARIAHO, Chairman (Finland), Julian ANDERSON (UK), Toshio HOSOKAWA (Japan), Michael JARRELL (Switzerland), Liza LIM (Australia)